Going Back to my Roots: Land Grabbing

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When asked why I decided to become a teacher, I answer rather clichedly, ‘I wanted to make a difference’. As a student I became actively involved in organisations such as Greenpeace, Friends of the Earth and CND. For my dissertation, I researched the three aims of Environmental Education: Education About, Through and ultimately For the Environment.

However, once I began working in schools and even more so when I became involved in Leadership and Management, juggling the demands of standards, safeguarding, CPD and various other balls became imperative. Unfortunately, I dropped the ball of Environmentalism, the very reason I became involved in education.

OxfamSo, when given the opportunity to be involved with the initial launch of Oxfam’s Land Grab campaign in London, I jumped at the chance. It was refreshing to meet Oxfam activists from around the country as they assembled outside the Houses of Parliament, some replete in Land Girls uniforms and others with High-Vis jackets and hard hats. The sight of a large map of Africa ripped in half and 3 JCBs certainly added to the visuals.

The activists and the JCBs proceeded to journey around London, stopping off at landmarks such as Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Admiralty Arch and the Mall in order to grab sections of land. This last location was particularly poignant; it was here that I completed the London Marathon almost a decade earlier, running for Oxfam.

The response of the public was most positive and at one point Oxfam were trending higher than National Poetry Day and One Direction with their #GROW and #landgrab, helped in part by a retweet by Stephen Fry.

For details of Oxfam’s Land Grab campaign, please visit the article written by Kate Geary.

Land GrabsOr click on the image here…

I encourage you to view the video signposted by Oxfam NorthEngland.

Hopefully, it will awaken or re-awaken and activate you  to ‘Think Global and Act Local’.

Leave a Reply

